I’m #162,232… what number could you be?

Technically, this isn’t “new” news, but it’s still worth repeating. Ocasionally I find myself watching “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition,” and I am moved by every story. However, I was very moved by the Walker story, one reason – they’re literally close to home… they’re from Springfield MA.

Their story was heartbreaking, in 2009 an 11-year-old took his life because of bullying. It seems that lately, bullying has been all over the news unfortunately covering stories of suicides.

This family took their heartbreaking story and turned it into one of hope. They hope to save lives!

“Sirdeaner Walker, whose 11-year-old son died by suicide after experiencing bullying in school, has dedicated her life to ending bullying of all kinds, including bullying based on race, religion, disability, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity or anything else that makes people different. ” Taken from the standtogether site

One way YOU can make a difference is by going to standtogether.tv and taking the Stand Together Pledge:

  1. Refrain from bullying of any kind, for any reason.
  2. Treat others with respect.
  3. Intervene, if I safely can. Or tell someone who can.
  4. Encourage others to Stand Together against bullying.

I took the pledge! I’m #162,232 so help me get that number even higher! Take the pledge (only if you mean it of course). I have yet to upload a picture with my number cause I’m not connected to a printer but I WILL! and when I do I’ll post it here!

Take one minute and take the pledge and be the change that the world needs! Think about it, you’ll be helping someone, spreading positivity and love all over the world!

the article on the Walker family:

http://wdaywdaztv.areavoices.com/2011/09/14/extreme-makeover-home-edition-visited-springfield-massachusetts-on-9-11/

Leave a Reply

